1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Fixing a valve

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Lawnworks, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

Well I just completed a lawn renovation at a client's house and I detected a leaking valve. I have never done this before, but it looks straight foward. I guess I would just cut out the tee and 90 right? I am thinking I may need to dig the box up to get to everything. What is the correct way to do this? Also, what would you charge for this?
  2. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

• Disassemble the top of the valve (solinoid and bonnet), cut of the 90, leave the tee intact.
    • Spin the valve off the male adapter that is glued to the tee.
    • Re-teflon the male adapter and spin a new valve on (you'll have to disasemble it to get it to clear).
    • Glue a coupler on the line that is elbowed down and bring it to the height it used to be before you cut it.
    • Carefully flex a 90 into place.

Only do it this way if the mainline male adapter is not the reasion for the leak. Also, if you can't spin it off your going to have to use a repair coupler to glue in a new tee.

An alternative is to find out what about the valve is leaking, it could just need a new diaphram.

Those look kinda like Toro Flo-Pro's, but I could be wrong...those are junk.
  3. jerryrwm

jerryrwm LawnSite Bronze Member

From the looks of that mess - you have a mess on your hands.

Those look like the old original Hunter valves that you loosened the cover screws and then twisted off the cover. Parts will probably be hard to find.

Dig that sucker up, replumb everything so it is neat and uniform and then charge them A Lot of Money!!

4. Dirty Water