Flagsone path bid

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by scottt, Jul 22, 2001.

1. scottt

scottt LawnSite Senior Member

As part of a design I am working on, I am wanting to add a flagstone path. The path would be about 4' wide and 75' long. I priced the materials and for the stone to be delivered it will be around $950. I have never put in a flagstone path before and was wondering how long it would take. Maybe and average time for foot also to help me bid on other jobs. Also, since I will use no mortar, should I cut a hole for each stone individually or use a sod cutter I will already have at the site to excavate the entire path and then fill in between the stones with the leftover sod? Any help would be appreciated since I have never done anything like this before. The main thing I want to know is how long it will take for a novice.

2. greens1

greens1 LawnSite Senior Member

Sounds to me like it's going to take about 5 times as long as it would to do a regular flagstone path.

You will still need to excavate down about 6" where you are going to place each stone, then fill with 4" of 3/4 crushed and fines and 1" of sand all thuroghly tamped. If you fail to set stone properly it will heave, break and become uneven. When this happens the path can, and probably will, become dangerous.

I would probably reccomend simply going with a conventional flagstone walkway. In the summer the grass between the stone tends to burn anyway, unless the path is in the shade.

Good Luck,
    Jim L

3. scottt

scottt LawnSite Senior Member

greens1,
    By conventional path, do you mean stones set in mortar? If I did this, how long do you think it would take. Thanks for your help.

4. Stonehenge

Stonehenge LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Midwest