Flat rate or Per Job for Fall Cleanups

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FinalCut05, Aug 22, 2005.

1. FinalCut05

FinalCut05 LawnSite Member

This is my first year in the business and fall is coming soon. I was wondering if I should stick with a hourly rate, say $25 per hour or do a per job estimate? Most of my accounts have a good amount of trees and im not sure how to bid them. Should I charge extra if they want them bagged over just mowed over? Just some general insight on what you guys think. Also I love this web site, I dont know how I would of made it this far without it.

Thanks,
    Tony :blob3:

2. radracer

radracer LawnSite Member

I am curious about this myself.

3. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member
    from Pa

Usually in my experience customers want leaves GONE! when doing a fall clean up. We charge per man hour with a minimum of 2 guys and 1 hour. I'm not going out in 40-50 degree rainy weather for peanuts. It can be very profitable but its a lot of hard work! You may want to rethink the $25.00/hr.

4. grassyfras

grassyfras LawnSite Bronze Member