Flyers Rule, Newspaper Ads Drool!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DBM, Apr 12, 2001.

1. DBM

DBM LawnSite Member

It's my first year and you guys were right. Flyers are working very well for me this year (so far 4% response), and I've been able to close on about 30 to 35% of my bids. Newspaper adds on the other hand are bringing out the undesirables - ie. 3 calls from the last ad where they wanted me to cut 8" tall grass, people calling me out only for me to find they thought their contractor was charging them too much (they aren't), cheapskates galore, difficult lawns, and a closing percentage of 15%.
    Flyers are much cheaper to boot.

Doug

2. corycc

corycc LawnSite Member

I very much agree. It is costing me an arm and a leg for my newspaper add, and so far no response. Now my flyers on the other hand. Huge response with a very good rate for new jobs. I guess it is just more personal, it just brings it to their attention better.

3. jasonp

jasonp LawnSite Member
    from Alabama

I also agee that you can get some strange calls from some strange people from the newspaper ad. Every once in a blue moon you will get a good one from it, no matter what kind of advertising it will pay for itself. Like I passed out about 500 door hangers and got a call from two, one was wanting a chemical treatment for killing weeds on his lawn which I knew nothing about, but the other wanted simple cutting every other week and hedges trimmed so it payed for itself and then some.

4. Southern Lawns

Southern Lawns LawnSite Senior Member