1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by XOFMOT, Jun 13, 2001.

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

Back for your help again! Get use to it everyone, I'm going to use this site to its full potential!

Flyers. What's the best "WORDING" to attract some customers? Should I use colored paper? List some pricing on there? (example: most area lawns mowed for $30.00)
    Where do I distribute them? Hang them up in Supermarkets, walk the neighborhoods, parking lots, direct mail.....?

PLease note I am very new to this, any and all advice will be studied. Thanks again for all the help!
  2. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

3. KirbysLawn

KirbysLawn Millenium Member

Eric beat me to it.....:(
  4. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

I definitely say no to parking lots. I know I personally do not like to come out to my car after shopping, and find a flier on my windshield. I don't even bother looking at it. I just toss it to the ground. I find that it a very lazy way to advertise. Plus, by leaving fliers on cars, you have absolutely no idea what kind of lawns you will be targeting. For all you would know, you could be leaving fliers on cars whose owners live in a senior citizen home or apartment building.

If you are going to go the flier route, I would suggest picking out the neighborhoods you would like to work in, and then leave a flier at their door. (Do not leave fliers in mailboxes. )

I'm sure others will differ on this, but I do not like the idea of putting prices on fliers. People see a price say "most lawns starting at $30.00", and that's what they will be expecting to pay. Don't limit yourself on the pricing.