Flying and Mowing can it be done?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by krapflier, Jan 25, 2008.

1. krapflier

krapflier LawnSite Member
    from AR

Looking to start a very small solo lawn care op this spring, 10 lawns tops. Got me a nice Quick 36 (LOVE IT), trimmer, edger, blower, and a used truck to do some residential lawn work. Problem is i'm a pilot and flying on a 7 and 7 schedule, and work from Wednesday of one week to Tuesday of the following week. I away flying for 7 days then I'm home for 7 days.

Can it be done and run a lawn biz? Spring going to be a bear but I figured on the weeks I'm home I can mow all my lawns on Wednesday the day I return from flying then mow them all again the day before I leave to go flying. This would insure that all the lawns are mowed at least once a week. Good thing about the set up is I really love to fly and I really enjoy lawn work. I just don't know if I have the time needed to do them both and do them both well.

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I don't see how this could be done....As soon as you get a rain day, you are looking at ATLEAST 2 weeks.

3. RGM

RGM LawnSite Senior Member
    Male, from Baltimore Md

you can have my customers that want there lawn cut every other week

4. lawnmagicinc

lawnmagicinc LawnSite Member
    from jax fl

it can work yall you got to do is set your custimers up on contracts you will be there 2 times a month to do there lawn .there are home owners that will go for that

5. lawnmagicinc

lawnmagicinc LawnSite Member
    from jax fl

then once you do that then you can go from there

6. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas

What is your long term goal for your mowing business?

7. Landrus2

Landrus2 LawnSite Platinum Member

Your best bet is stick to what you know better. Do you fly a commercial air line?:drinkup:

8. shopmanual

shopmanual LawnSite Member
    from Indiana