Follow up calls..necessity or nuissance?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by drsogr, Apr 27, 2005.

?

Follow up.

1. Yes, I do follow up calls

10 vote(s)
    83.3%
  2. No, I don't do follow up calls

2 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. drsogr

drsogr LawnSite Bronze Member

I was just curious who uses follow-up calls? I do mostly landscaping jobs, almost all jobs over a $1,000, and have never used follow-up calls. I don't even know what to say if I did call them. Part of me thinks that if they haven't called..there is a reason. Part of me also says I have spent the time to estimate the job why not call them and make sure they don't have any questions. What do you guys think? I am still learning how to be a salesman....so any suggestions would help.

2. pagefault

pagefault LawnSite Senior Member

I've always done lots of follow up calls in every business.

If you have a bid out there and don't hear back, call them. They may not be calling because they think you will. They want to feel important. There have been plenty of times when I have said "I guess he didn't want it all that bad after all" when a salesperson did not follow up with me. This is because all day long I had to deal with phone tag with our vendors, our customers, coworkers, etc. If a sales person did not follow up with me, my reaction was "Great, the last thing I need is another guy I can't get a hold of." This attitude carried over to my personal life. If you're not calling me then forget it. I'm paying you, so you should be doing the work. It sucks, but that is corporate life and corporate life is where most of your customers spend most of their time.

Also, they may have decided not to use you based on something they misunderstood in the quote or based on something you could easily change.