For those of you who don't like Unique

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by Desertdweller, Mar 25, 2008.

1. Desertdweller

Desertdweller LawnSite Member

I'm new to lighting and have doing a lot of research and talking to installers, reps etc. We just finished our first job and used FX. It went great. The customer liked it so much he just signed to do the front yard also. We also have 3 more sold. My question is, Why wouldn't you use Unique? I'm not sold on the hub system or the transformer but what about the lights? They seem to be made well and they seem to have a lot of options for an installer. Just trying to sort through all the BS you get from reps. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Lite4

Lite4 LawnSite Gold Member

If you are not "sold" on the Hub method as your primary method of power distribution, then frankly you are doing your customer a disservice and have no business installing lighting until you learn to install it correctly. It doesn't matter which manu you use. If you don't wire correctly they all fail.

3. INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting LawnSite Platinum Member

Tim... I think your statement above is a bit too broad and generalizes too much.

I do not use the hub method of wiring (albeit for different reasons then most) and can tell you straight up that my customers have been done no disservice and that my systems do not fail.

It is most certainly possible, effective and reasonable to install a LV outdoor lighting system and not use the hub method of wiring.

4. Pro-Scapes

Pro-Scapes LawnSite Platinum Member