Ford 8N vs. Zero Turn

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by shad061, Feb 9, 2012.

1. shad061

shad061 LawnSite Member

I am glad I found this forum. Hopefully those with experience can provide some advice. I just purchased a property with 6 acres and 100 yards of driveway. 2 are heavily wooded and need to be cleaned up. The other 4 are mowable. I have been trying to weigh the pros and cons of each option since I simply can't afford a ZTR and an 8N at the moment.

My original thoughts where to go with the 8N so I could plow the drive, pull a trailer, run a chipper, mow, etc... At this point though it does not look like we will be getting much snow in Ohio this year so the plow is not an immediate requirement. There is a nice 8N for sale a few miles away that has been freshly blasted, painted and tuned up for $1500. It's a strong runner as is but I am a mechanic so servicing the beast should not be an issue. There is also a 60" rear deck that was just rebuilt for $400 down the road. I have some concerns about the tires tearing up the yard so i'll probably have to buy turf tires too. I also would like to be able to stripe the yard this summer. I'm sure it's possible to put some rollers on the back of the deck but I may have to fab that. The other downside to the tractor is that I will have a few areas on the property that I will have to trim with a push mower.

I was told that the 8N may be a bit large for this size of property. So I was looking at some slightly small tractors and in order to get anything with the PTO that I want I would have to spend a few thousand more and at that point might be better off getting the ZTR.