Ford Ranger

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by youngdude, Jan 19, 2004.

1. youngdude

youngdude LawnSite Member

I have been mowing lawns since about 11 years old and now just turned 16. I have a '99 Ford Ranger with the smallest 4 you can put in that thing with a 5 speed manual. Its great on gas though. The question that I have is that it says the gvwr is just about 5000 ibs. Now does that mean i can haul 5000 pounds or is that the total vehical towing. Can anyone tell me how much ibs i should be hauling?

2. DAZED AND CONFUSED

DAZED AND CONFUSED LawnSite Member

first let me say im not very mechanicly inclined but my sugestion to you is simple "call your local ford dealership and ask"

3. legendrider

legendrider LawnSite Member

If im not mistaken thats the total amount truck and tailer together you should pull. but yes ask the dealer or your owners manual it will be listed in there under towing capacity. i would bet you can pull a small trailer with a mower and some tools with no problem. just dont load the bed too much

4. fcl01

fcl01 LawnSite Member
    from OHIO

until your hitch meets concrete, dont worry

5. Roger C

Roger C LawnSite Member

The gvwr is the over all wgt of the truck. you need to find out your empty wgt to know what you can haul legal.

6. Tvov

Tvov LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Do you still have the owner's manual? The tow rating should be in there someplace. I would be greatly surprised if you are rated to tow over 2500lbs, most likely less. What do you have for a hitch setup? You may want to consider getting a frame mounted receiver hitch, because some of the bumpers trucks sometimes come with are nothing more than sheet metal it seems. Or at least get a heavy duty after market bumper. I would think that you should have no problem towing a single axle trailer, maybe like a 6x10.

7. Rotor-Man

Rotor-Man LawnSite Member