From GA

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dhardegree, Nov 29, 2009.

1. dhardegree

dhardegree LawnSite Member

I've lurked around a few months. My name is David from Georgia. I spend my days educating America's youth as a elementary school teacher. My evenings are spent mowing. It's somewhat of a release, especially after a stressful day here or there. I've been doing this for a couple years, not real aggressively, just picking them up as they come along. I started with a husqvarna push, ryobi string trimmer w/ detachable head and edger attachement, and a borrowed blower. A lady in my church asked if I new anyone that could help her with lawn. That's where I started. Word of mouth spread and as business picked up for me I put back money and bought new equipment. I still would like a commercial grade 21". Last year I bought the commercial handhelds by stihl. This year I bought a fixerupper Bobcat 62", but it needs a new deck. 2 years ago I bought a timecutter 42". It runs well, but it's just not what I need. One thing I'm proud of is everything was paid for at the time of purchase. NO BORROWING.:clapping: Good thing, too. Last year I had 14 lawns. Which was plenty for what I had going on. Then, 4 of the 14 owners moved out of town. 1 got doctors clearance to continue normal activities, including cutting grass. 1 was not paying, after having to call all the time I dropped her. 1 moved to larger home with larger yard and wanted to pay the same price for lawn care. .

I haven't started advertising, but soon will when it gets closer to spring and hopefully things will pick back up and I can finish the Bobcat.

2. DLAWNS

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

Welcome to the site and good luck to you.

3. golfwaymore

golfwaymore LawnSite Member
    from 30705

Hi David, I'm from GA too but will be moving soon.