Fuel Pump Output Check

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Are6rider, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Are6rider

Are6rider LawnSite Member

I am new guy here...so I really appreciate any help anyone can give. I am basically a beginner to small engines...but I a good mechanic overall....

I have a JD 165 Lawn Tractor with a Kaw FB460V.....it run for about 2 minutes then quits....let sit and will do the samething again...if I trickle gas in the carb...it will run forever !!! just hard to do while mowing :laugh:

It has new gas, filter, air filter, new plug and drained the gas in bowl also...

How do I know the Fuel Pump is working ??? or should I be looking at the Carb ????

thanks in advance...

2. MowerMedic77

MowerMedic77 LawnSite Bronze Member

First let me say Welcome to Lawnsite:clapping:
    I may be wrong but I am not sure that this application uses a pump most FB460's are gravity feed, make sure the flow out of the line before you install it onto the carb is good your gas cap may not be venting or may have a blockage in the line, with the carb bowl removed shoot some carb spray in the main set and also blow it out with some compressed air reinstall the bowl and hook up your line and see if it runs longer for you. Hope this helps:)

3. Are6rider

It does have a fuel pump.....mounted on the side of the motor...line in from the tank with filter....line out to the carb...with a line to the side of the engine for vacuum. Cap is new and vented...and the line is clear from the tank to the fuel filter...so I know gas is available to the fuel pump...

I have not touched the carb...but I will pull the bowl and check the jets.

I pulled the line from the carb and ran the engine by pouring gas down the throat....just to see how much gas came out of the line....after about 1 minute of running...only enough gas to cover the bottom of a baby food jar...

Bad pump ???? the cost about $50 at the JD dealer...
    Thanks,
    Are6ride in SC

4. MowerMedic77