Future, give your opinions

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Willofalltrades, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Willofalltrades

Willofalltrades LawnSite Bronze Member

I am in my first year of college. I know I don't need to declare a major yet or anything like that for a little bit, but I have a fork in my road. I plow snow for a big landscaping company in my area. I am 100% positive they would like to hire me full time this summer (I talked to the owner and they really want me to work for them). I also have been doing landscaping on the side for 3 years now (ever since I got my liscence). I have worked for smaller companies in the past and I have a lot of experience working with different types of equipment that is used in this industry. I think they would hire me in around $12 an hour or more. I would eventually become a crew leader and run a maintenance team (that team would consist of H2-B employees). I, on the other hand want to keep my business going. It is what I want to do after college (I want to be an Entrapreneur). I like working for myself. I want to reach a goal of 30 weekly clients. I would achieve this by distributing flyers... Now the question: Working for this other company is the safe route... Yet I know I will be happier just making my business full time and attending to that all summer (this isn't a reliable option because my advertising could fail and I could be stuck with 10 clients). What would you do? Gamble and build your business, or work for another company? If I choose to work for the other company I would sell my truck and mower, which would be about 5,000 in my pocket... that would be a nice down payment on a new car (I want a Subaru).

2. Willofalltrades

Sorry about thge long post... I have a lot racing through my mind...

3. steve5966

steve5966 LawnSite Member

Assuming that you don't have a wife and kids relying on your income and your just out of high school. You don't really have un-safe option.