Future of lawncare business?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by yokes, Nov 17, 2007.

1. yokes

yokes LawnSite Member

I'm a college student and have been doing lawns part time for about 4 years. I am about to graduate and am contemplating whether or not I should go full time. My question is what do you think the future of this business will be. Will fuel prices go so high that the lawncare industry fades away or will there continue to be a demand for our services? Lawncare is what I love doing but I am unsure about the future of this industry. What do you think?

2. Dunn's

Dunn's LawnSite Bronze Member

In some areas this industry has already faded away. Well sort of if the price you can get is $15-20 dollars on a 10k property. The industry is pretty much gone.

3. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

dont know about it drying up.

I guess it depends on what type of Business you have.

If your customer base is 1/4 acer homeowners, or major contracts.

around most Cities the business has been booming for 47 years that I personaly know of.

In fact I just submitted a 67,000.00 bid.

and to be honest I really dont care if I get it or not

4. DuraCutter

DuraCutter LawnSite Senior Member

If you really love lawncare, be prepared to live well but no better than a good paying job. You can go out and snag a good job, work for someone else, have healthcare paid for, regular hours and after 5 to 10 years, an above average wage and some savings, retirement funds maybe.... who knows.

Lawncare, headaches and very low profit... if you still enjoy cutting lawns, don't dream of riches, that may never happen. Only maybe 3 to 5 % or lcos make really good coin...

Good luck

:)

5. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

that is the big question...

6. flairland

flairland LawnSite Senior Member