Gallery vs. Snapshot ?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by ted putnam, Dec 19, 2008.

1. ted putnam

ted putnam LawnSite Platinum Member

I've recieved a couple calls and a couple requests regarding weed control in beds. I have very little experience in this area but I am noticing that it could be a very lucrative upsell and I plan to mention in my prepay letter that I will be offering it along with a couple other services. I've already compared costs and for me Snapshot is pretty much double the price of Gallery per k. I'd like to know some of everyones thoughts on how they compare as far as results... speaking from personal experience of course. Thanks

2. DLAWNS

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

I've used both and prefer Snapshot but it's so ridiculously expensive. I still use snapshot at the moment but I plan on trying others to save money.

3. greendoctor

greendoctor LawnSite Fanatic

Gallery is only for preemergent control of broadleaf weeds. You might have a problem with grassy weeds if Gallery is applied by itself. I tend not to sweat that because of the many options for grassy weed control in beds. But if you are after total control of all weeds, something like Barricade, Pre-M or Surflan should be in the mix. In my market, if you do not do weed control in beds, the account goes to someone else that does. Even if that someone else is a nonlicensed, lowballing hack. Because I do not have winter here, I have a good idea of what kind of weeds are going to be a problem. Snapshot granules is Gallery and Surflan. Mix your own and spray it out, enjoy superior weed control vs granules at a better price. Also, I do not apply preemergents unless they are going to be watered in within 24 hours of being applied. In the case of Ronstar Flo, you the applicator must water in the application.

4. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member