1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Gas Prices Inflating

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Infinite, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Infinite

Infinite LawnSite Member

I'll start off by saying this is my first year owning a lawn care business, but worked for one previous to this. At the beginning of the season gas prices were a little over 2.00, and now they are at 3.09 here. I didn't have any of my customers sign contracts this year, but want set up a contract for them to sign next year. Anyways should I have them sign the contract this year or wait until spring? I need to raise prices due to gas, how much should I increase as of now? 15%? Also if I send out a contract this fall should I also hit them with a letter increasing prices?
  2. illday

illday LawnSite Member

I raised all my cuts by 5 dollars a couple of weeks ago and only received one customer complaint. I sent out a letter referring to the rise in gas and other operating costs.
  3. 29 Palms Property Management

29 Palms Property Management LawnSite Senior Member

I did the same. I raised weekly services $5 each. I havn't had a complaint yet. I have personally talked to 90% of my customers and they all seem to understand.
    It's just a shame that all of the tragedy happened in the gulf states like that. No one expected anything of that magnitude. God bless to all of them. We really are lucky I guess that the only price we're paying, is the hike in fuel. There's nothing worse then losing a life time, everything you ever worked for. And worst of all, losing family and friends.
  4. GreenUtah

GreenUtah LawnSite Senior Member
    from SLC, UT