Gender question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by grassmasterdawn, Apr 8, 2006.

1. grassmasterdawn

grassmasterdawn LawnSite Member

I notice that I'm probably the only female on here, so I have to ask this since I'm just starting out in the business...would a man be more inclined or less inclined to pay to have a woman mow his lawn? I guess that might also depend on if I was a hot babe or not. I'm not.

I think when someone talks to me on the phone, they just assume that I'm the secretary. Then when I'm the one who pulls up with the mower on the trailer, they're kind of thrown for a loop.

I just wanted to get a male point of view on if it's going to be more difficult for me to sell lawn services because some people might be focused on my gender and not on my skill.

2. Splicer

Splicer LawnSite Senior Member

3. grasswhacker

grasswhacker LawnSite Gold Member

Not to be hurtful at all. But if I were an an able body man I would be embarrassed to have a woman doing my lawn. Now if I were over 65, disabled, or had allergies, maybe I would. However, I would be more inclined to have a woman design a landscape than a man because most females give more attention to detail.

4. JoeinJasper

JoeinJasper LawnSite Member

Dear ONLY GIRL on this SITE,
    I started my own Landscaping business about 6 yrs. ago and I am a female who stands 5'1 1/2" tall and weigh about 200lbs and have three small kids. And let me tell you I have run into a lot of problems because of my gender but nothing I could not work around and my business is doing great. The main thing you have to remember is that no matter what anyone else thinks, if you are capable of doing the job you will have to take the time to read your customer and come up with the right response that will relay that job ability and if you still don't get the job you don't want to work with that kind of small minded person anyway.