General Questions - New Business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Bob_McNaughton, Jul 14, 2001.

1. Bob_McNaughton

Bob_McNaughton LawnSite Member

Questions, but first, a brief history.

I've recently been thinking of getting back into the lawn business. When I was 17 I did lawns for about 2 years, then decided to quit and goto college (I have a degree in business admin/marketing). I made decent money at 17 doing this, and loved it. But I only had a 48" Scag, not nearly enough for the massive lawns I ended up cutting. So it burned me out - plus, the scags never had a decent cut imho.

Anyway, during college, over the summer I worked for a guy that had 2 crews out. Enjoyed it agian, like before. Then later when I was layed off from my firm, I went back to work for this same guy as a forman, and enjoyed it again and learned alot about running a solid lawn maintence company.

For the last 3 years i've been working as a Store Manager for Radioshack. I'm burned out working "for the man". I don't mind the long hours so much, but the pay and the BS stress are what gets to me. This year, I will be lucky to top 30k in pay. Retail isn't a good business anymore, and 30k for 50-60hrs a week aren't cutting it.

My wife is pretty high paid, and we have a good chunk of money saved up, so I have some flexibility to start a business, or do whatever I want.

Thats my quick history in a nutshell. Now for my questions..

1) Is the business still booming like it was years ago? Seems I was turning down customers do to high volumn, and the guy I worked for also turned down people alot.

2) I'm in Michigan, so its a summer thing (plow in winter though). How is the income potential for a hustler with a good business head, strong work ethics, and high quality equipment? I'm working 50-60 hours a week at Radioshack, so long hours aren't strange to me.