1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

General start up costs(semi urgent)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WMU, Nov 8, 2000.

1. WMU

WMU LawnSite Member
    from Mi

I am a student at Western Michigan Univ. in my business class we have to write a business plan, and I choose to start a lawn service. I have a few questions dealing with general expenses.
    1. How much $ does it cost to insure a company with and without employees (no employee benefits)?
    2. How much do you charge per half acre?
    3. What is a realistic number for maximum accounts per week? given you have 2 crews of 3, using 2 mowers per crew (exmark hp 42''if makes a diff.)
    4. How much do you pay per season on materials such as line trimmer twin, blades, compost bags, etc.?
    5. How much do you spend per season on general maintenance?
    6. How often do you change blades and pulleys?
    Thank you for your help it is greatly appreiciated,
  2. accuratelawn

accuratelawn LawnSite Senior Member

USe the search function. Read as many posts as you can.
  3. bob

bob LawnSite Platinum Member
    from DE

I know that you what specific numbers for your answers. But the questions are too vague. Here's an example; I have a lawn that takes 2 men 4 hours to cut, I also have a lawn that take 2 men 8 minutes to cut. Do you see where I'm going with this? A half acre empty lot is easier to cut than a half acre with a house,pool,fence,trees..... Sorry I couldn't be more helpful. Like Accuratelawn said, use the search feature at the bottom of the page.
  4. Skookum

Skookum LawnSite Senior Member

If we give you all the answers to such a broad question, can we get a college credit or maybe some CCH's added to our pesticide license?