Getting calls but turning them down?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Liendeni, May 19, 2008.

1. Liendeni

Liendeni LawnSite Member

I did two estimates today but I more or less turned them down rather than they turning me down. The first one....the lady was just looking to fire her present lawn guy for a cheaper price. And the truth is....the guy was doing a hell of a good job for next to nothing. I passed. Second one, present lawn guy was skipping the endless chore of excessive hedging...and rightfully so for what she was paying.

My question is this: I am just starting out and only have 10 accounts. Aside from lowballing, do you think it is better to take less than "high paying" jobs when you first start out to get the business...and therefore more business through word of mouth....or is this really the way to dig yourself into the ground....working for next to nothing....and in the end...not being successful?

If you were first starting out....would you rather have the work...even if the money wasn't great....say only $25 an hour...or would you rather wait for the right jobs.

2. lawnwizards

lawnwizards LawnSite Silver Member

you dont wanna be the guy doing a great job but working for next to nothing. its hard to raise rates significantly when you find out you underbid.

3. NC Greenscaper

NC Greenscaper LawnSite Senior Member

ditto, what he said

4. shovelracer

shovelracer LawnSite Silver Member

Your not doing anything wrong. Its much better to hold your ground. Besides it your first year and you really wont know what your true expenses are until the year ends, and even then it will take a few years to get to some steady numbers. Dont work for cheap cause doing it for $25 is bad when you find out next January it cost you $35.

5. DA Quality Lawn & YS

DA Quality Lawn & YS LawnSite Fanatic