Getting Good Employees

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Duncan IN, Nov 11, 2000.

1. Duncan IN

Duncan IN LawnSite Member

This is my first year starting out in the commercial cutting business and I am ready to consider expanding for the next mowing season. My biggest concern about expanding is trying to find help that will last at least until the end of the season. There is another commercial cutter in my area that has went threw 30 guys in one summer. I think his problem was that he was not offering them enough for what they were doing. I am wanting to know what a commericial cutting business pays employees that will keep them with the company for a long time. Do you pay by the hour or do you share a percentage with the employee. I plan on expanding by adding another trailer with mower etc., to my business. Anybody out there not have a problem with keeping employees?

Levi Duncan
    Lone Tree Lawn Care
  2. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

I finally came to believe that some employers
    can just get better work out of hired help than
    oters.That is one thing i just dont have the
    natural ability to do.Some obviously can
    but i never found many that i could trust my
    accts to .Hense my final conclusion that it
    was really my lacking instead of thiers.
    Like ole CLINT says A MANS GOT TO KNOW
    HIS LIMITATIONS.For those to young thats
    Clint Eastwood.D--- i feel old when i have
    to say that
  3. Cutter1

Cutter1 LawnSite Bronze Member