Getting My Act Together

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by FamilyBiz, Jun 1, 2004.

1. FamilyBiz

FamilyBiz LawnSite Member
    from Denver

Im a plumber that is sick of the biz. I want to start a Lawn biz but need to know how to get legitimate. Taxes, licenses, etc.etc.
    I know how it is to be low balled and I'm not the one. Im worth more that 12.00 a lawn. People in the plumbing trade do it all day(flybynights)
    Im in the Denver, Colorado area and need a ballpark figures on how much to charge. I've looked at other Lawn Care services, do you think I should go by their prices? (in Denver)
    What equipment should I start off with?
    My neighbor is selling a 4x8 trailer for 350.00 It looks nice too. Is that a good deal. Will it be sufficient for a one man op?

2. Trevors Lawn Care

Trevors Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

Family....

I was just in denver about a month ago. For the size of your lawns you would be fine with something like a 36" walkbehind. You can get a good used one for under 1,000. A 4X8 trailer would be a good start also. There is always room to upgrade, and you dont need to buy more than you need. Go to a dealer and buy stihl handheld equip. (my personal Favorite.) Other good name brands would be echo, redmax, or shindaiwa.

If you are serious about this get serious equipment. Do not buy homeowner equip. if you can afford it. Print up half sheet fliers (2 per page) and slap em EVERYWHERE.

Also..My brother lives in the D-town and may be looking to get into the biz too. He hasnt decided if he is gonna come and work with me yet.

ALSO.....I know Larry Uliberry from Ks 107.5 and maybe could pull some strings and get him to do an on air (morning show) comment about your business or something if you get serious.

Let me know via PM

Trevor

3. wairinc

wairinc LawnSite Member
    from Denver