Getting started

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Jungle Lawns, May 4, 2005.

1. Jungle Lawns

Jungle Lawns LawnSite Member

Hi guys this is my first year to be in this awesome business but I have a few worries. I would like to keep the business running by myself but need a little help in knowing how to speed up production while on a yard. Currently it takes me about 50/mins to do a yard. The equipment that I have is a 42" Yazookee z-turn, 33" sutech wb, 21" toro 5.5hp, stihl edger and stihl string trimmer. If there are any books or tricks to do could someone let me know?
  2. theturfsurfer

theturfsurfer LawnSite Member
    from mtka,MN

Not knowing what size lawn you are mowing makes it kinda hard to help you improve your time spent. You might be right on target. As far as a book helping you, I think your time will improve with experience, kinda hard to get that from a book. The only other option is getting larger mowers but then your costs will increase.
  3. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member

being prepared is a huge way to move quickly through your lawns. for instance, if I am filling up a trimmer, I will top everything else off while i have the gas can out (all 2 cycle equip). Also, I restring my trimmers after work so they are ready for the next day. I usually do it while watching tv. keep a few extra pre-strung heads in your truck, its a lot faster to swap heads then restring while on the job. keep a pair of pliers in your pocket or even a swiss army knife. sometimes those damn heads get tangled or you lose a string in the head. beats walking all the way back to the truck. fill up the truck/mowers/cans at night after the day is over.
    these are just a few tips, i'm sure others will add to the list. good luck
  4. Mower For Less

Mower For Less LawnSite Senior Member