1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Getting the most from your website

Discussion in 'Digital Marketing' started by Team-Green L&L, Jan 5, 2007.

1. Team-Green L&L

Team-Green L&L LawnSite Bronze Member

I have been working with search engine optimization for 2 years now and can now see why, the majority of, the companies on here aren't getting the hits and traffic to increase sales.

DVS Hardscaper, I'm gonna use your site for an example here, sorry. www.outdoorfinishes.com is a beautiful flash site that would sell anyone who already knew to go there or learned through another medium of advertisement, but it is "flash" and when you use the search term: "keedysville landscaping" on Yahoo it's nowhere to be found. This is how a potential "cold" client will find you.

The point here is this. A site is only as good as it's visibility! With a poorly optimized site, it is necessary to spend more money to get people to the site. Imagine being in a mall with 10 billion stores, how would you find what your looking for? You would use the map in the center of the mall, correct? That is what Google and Yahoo are.

Invest some time into making your site visible and you will find that it is much more useful than "closing the deal".

If you are interested in Search Engine Optimization, but don't have a clue about technique, I may be able to help there. PM me and we can discuss it there.
  2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Oh you don't gotta tell me, first you build it...
    Then you rebuild it just for the engines (or so it would seem).
    That's after you done rebuilt it 12 times already, of course.