giving up carrying the spreader with me

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by James Cormier, Feb 22, 2008.

1. James Cormier

James Cormier LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Ma

Im giving up carrying the spreader with me. Mainly because I really like using the PG rack of the back of the pick up. And with a short bed truck its really a pain in the butt to carry the Lesco spreader.

So I decided to try and use the belly grinder type spreader. I have no experience with these things at all. What type are you all using and how hard is it to do a uniform app?

Ive also been thinking of having my welder make a carrying rack that mounts to the plow frame up front and carry some misc items on that. Anyone have any photo's of racks mounted in front?

2. turf hokie

turf hokie LawnSite Silver Member

I have seen plenty of guys mount a spreader carrier to the front of the truck. They usually just use a class 2 hitch (I think) and then put a spreader carrier in it and away they go. I am thinking of doing the same thing b/c with the pg carrier it is a pain to get the push spreader out of the truck bed.

The belly or monkey grinders are great. We use the old Scott's version with the piece that rests on your forearm. That and a piece of duct tape over the logo and they are great for small properties and that strip b/t the road and sidewalk.

3. TSM

TSM LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

Jim, (finally a little sanity at lawnsite) hows things?
    I use one of them grinder type spreaders i think its a Solo? i aint sure...its wicked old.

think it holds 25 lbs
    man that thing can throw a really wide pattern. never had any misapp using it

in regards to your other thread about the z-spray walk behind. I just ordered one. Never seen one up close. I understand they have made some modifications/adjustments to their original design. You can now get a sulkie to attach behind it as well. I ordered that as well.