GO BIG OR GO HOME mower help!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by DodgeDually, Aug 7, 2007.

1. DodgeDually

DodgeDually LawnSite Member

Hello I am new to the site, and have been searching for some advice on weather I should pack my buisness up, and do something else or go big. I have been doing residential mowing for three yrs now. My delema is I am loosing $$$. I bought a Dixon Kodiak 50" mower 2yrs ago, and it has turned into a major headache. If I am to keep my buisness I need a new mower. In my area I am torn between the Grasshopper, and the exmark mower. I don't want to start a debate about which mower is better, but would like to hear of peoples personal exsperiance w/ these mowers. I don't know if I will be purchasing new or used so any info on know problems, and what to look for would be very helpfull. I also want to know which mower is the most adaptable. Can it be easily changed over from bagger, mulching, side discharge. I have a good reputation in my area, but from the all the down time I am having w/ my Dixon I am starting to loose customers. I am terrified of taking on another mower payement, and getting stuck w/ another lemon of a mower. In advance I would like to thank everyone for advice.

2. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

Both mowers are great get whatever has the best service dealer.I personally use a scag tiger cub because of the dealer. exmark Is a great mower also my dealer for them just sucks. good luck

3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Yeah but you're stuck in a rut, and until you decide to pull yourself out of it there's little to nothing anyone can do, but I'm not totally unsympathetic either... My 60" Ztr's the same way, it's just a money hog in every way and really only pays off on the BIG lots (acre+) and like yourself I could do without the $230 / month drain on the payment. It shouldn't be, and it's not that big of a deal, but it is, and hence I've learned some lessons: