Goal for a day's work?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawnworks, Jun 13, 2004.

1. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

What is your goal for a days worth of work? Landscaping or lawn maintenance if there is a difference. I am really only thinking of a one crew set-up, but any other input would be interesting also.

2. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

I have 55 residential lawns to mow each week. I'm solo and I try to mow 12 or 13 each day. The average lawn that I do is about 10,000 SF. Sometimes I can get 15 finished in a long day if I don't run into any problems or rain. I average about 40 minutes per lawn (including drive time) and I don't waste any time when I'm working. I do not stop for lunch on most days. As a solo operator I think you should set yourself up to average no more than 12 per day. Any more than that is really tough on you. After about 12 lawns in 90 degree heat my butt is really dragging. You also have to think about make-ups when you get rained out or have equipment problems.
    A two man operation can usually double the total number of lawns that a solo can do if they work together and don't waste time.

3. Trevors Lawn Care

Trevors Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

i get 46 jobs done in two days. Gross is about 600 per day.

trevor

4. EagleLandscape

EagleLandscape LawnSite Platinum Member
    Male, from Garland, Texas

I bring in alot less net profit mowing than I do landscaping. Kind of for the shear fact that I can't stand mowing yards anymore, so I just trim and edge when my friend does the mowing. But we've been having 90+ days here lately, and it's starting to take its toll once again on me.

Landscaping is a whole nothing issue. I pulled in $1500.00+ net profit in a day of landscaping before. But then again it was a 13 day.

5. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa