1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Going commercial...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by The Amateur, May 5, 2008.

1. The Amateur

The Amateur LawnSite Member

Great site packed with info - THANKS! I have been taking care of a handful of residential properties for about 3 years - mostly as side work. One season I worked full time in the lawn business. Due to drought and personal issues last season, I basically let my few clients go. Now, I would like to get into it again and want to follow the commercial route. I am looking into some State and local Gov contracts. My question is, have any of you got into Gov work WITHOUT first working some commercial accounts prior to the gov contracting? The contracts I have seen address experience. My goal is to not get in too deep and still maybe work some type of "regular" job PT or FT. Any advice would be appreciated!
  2. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

bumping this one up
  3. NOOB

NOOB LawnSite Member

check out another thread about a DUNS # that will build your credit and also alow you to bid on gov. contracts
  4. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

It can be difficult...

Here In Houston Texas we have the METRO bus system...."Governmant"

I have been after them for a while however, due to my Co. NOT being worth 1.5 million.
    I'm out in the cold
  5. The Amateur

Thanks guys! Keep it coming! I appreciate this well of info to draw from.

6. The Amateur

Ok fellas! I got a couple of commercial jobs going. I got the lawn work for a city / county building (homeless shelter) - admittedly I had someone on the "inside". I have a gas station and potentially another. I'm going to do a hotel Tuesday! It's a start!

7. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic