1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Going from a 21" Snapper to 36" Scag - a long rambling rant

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Damian, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Damian

Damian LawnSite Member

(For the purposes of full disclosure, we only do residential lawns.)

I've been using the 21' for a couple of decades - off and on - and am so comfortable with it it's almost second nature. Am I doing things I shouldn't be doing like wearing shorts and not wearing protective glasses, I don't know, but that's how I learned how to use it.

I started reading the manual for the 36" and it calls for long pants and glasses. I started thinking it's just typical "cya" boilerplate until I realized the machine is much more powerful and maybe it's very practical advice. Too bad I work in Texas and fear if I wore long pants during the summer, I'd die of heatstroke before arterial bleeding by a well placed shot of debris. But I think I'm getting ahead of myself.

I've always liked the 21" because I'm strong enough to stop it should I veg out and come close to running it off the curb or get too close to a vehicle. Certainly it's light enough to push towards a tree to get as close a cut as possbile without worrying that I'd gouge the tree. With the exception of a few sprinkler heads, I know which ones at which settings I can pass over without concern of lopping them off. If I slipped or fell, it was so simple to disengage the drive. I've never really had to worry about the mower falling on me.