Going Full-Time (good vs. bad)

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by lawnspecialties, May 14, 2007.

1. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

For those who don't know me, I'm a full-time firefighter. We only work ten days a month (24 hr. shifts) so that leaves twenty days (minus Sundays) for my LCO. I've been an LCO since '99 and business gets better every year. This year, it's been working on my mind hard about the idea of going full-time LCO. But here are the pros and cons to this possibility.

Pros:
    1: The revenue is strong enough to go full-time. Right now it would be a little tight but the business is constantly growing and going full-time will only enhance that.
    2: Reitterating #1, I have basically run out of daylight to do much more. I consider myself very efficient and productive but there are only so many hours in a day. Ten more days added to my month would be great.
    3: The fire dept. salary is OK, but nothing special and won't grow but so much. Face it, owning your own business gives someone a far better chance for achieving wealth.
    4: I really enjoy lawn maintenance and landscaping. Firefighting is a great job but I'd rather have dirty fingernails than sooty fingernails.:laugh:
    5: I really miss my family. Being gone on a 24 hour shift and then cutting grass all the next day means I'm gone 36 hours a lot.
    6: Finding new employees to work everyday with me while I train them is far easier than finding an employee who can work everyday I'm not at the fire station.

Cons:
    1: No dedicated salary with vacation days and sick days paid.
    2: Benefits, benefits, benefits! Health insurance costs these days is off the map. My wife stays home with my two sons so everything is up to me.
    3: What if I get hurt? Who's going to run the equipment? My 13 and 6 year old sons?:confused: