1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Going out on a limb?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn-N-Garden Guy, Feb 1, 2003.

1. Lawn-N-Garden Guy

Lawn-N-Garden Guy LawnSite Senior Member

Ok,HERES MY SITUATION,I have been doing lawncare for 5 yrs now on a part time basis,My fulltime job is working for a very large cable tv co.They are changing my hrs from 8-4:30 pm to 12-8:30 pm permantly,This is gonna conflict with my lawncare bussiness in the summer,I have now approx 22 customers that get mowed weekly plus all the other things that come with lawncare and maintanence.I think if I do the flyer thing and advertise I should get double or maybe triple the accounts I have now.Right now there is only 1 other outfit that works my area and seems like the need for my service is growing more and more.I've been in the cable bus. for 10 years and I'm sick of working for a big co.,Always playing with your hrs.I feel its time to make the move and go on my own.WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK ?
    And if you had to start out all over again what would you do differently ? My finger nails are getting shorter!
    I told my wife I would use up my week vacation before I quit and take her and the kids to Daytona for BikeWeek,Might be the last vacation for a while.LOL
  2. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member

The answers simple. Do it! There's too many procrastinators in this world already. If you have the desire, it will be better than you ever thought. I should have started myself years ago, but I didn't. I couldn't be happier now, yet a little sad about wasting the younger, more energetic years of my life. The body takes a little longer to regenerate, so to speak, as you get a little older. Good luck.
  3. danny m.

danny m. LawnSite Member