Gonna have to let this customer go?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by StBalor, Jun 22, 2006.

1. StBalor

StBalor LawnSite Senior Member

Before i start, i know someone will read my profile and say, it says you only been doing this for 2 years. But that is only how long i been doing this full time and legit. i have been cutting grass for many years after work.
    Well i been cutting this 1 yard now for 8 years. it was an ederly couple and the husband passed away about 3 years ago. it was not uncommon for them to wait 2-3 cuts then pay me at once. I did not mind cause i been mowing for them for years and never had a problem. well yesterday i go to mow and the back yard was covered with trash and clothes. i cut what i could and went around and cut the front. the lady comes out and tells me "they are gonna demolish the whole community" tear down the houses and till em under was her excact words. Tells me " there gonna tear down her home and till it under and she was gonna move. I asked where you moving too? She then tells me she is moving to the future, where everything is push button". She tells me she has been happy with my work but will not need me anymore after today and that her neighbor will pay me. I just sayed ok, left the bill and left.
    the past couple of times i was there i could tell her mental health was deteriating but never thought much of it. As much as i hate to, i do not wanna keep cutting this grass if there is a chance i might not get paid. She now owes me for 2 cuts. I think i will just chalk the 2 cuts up to a loss and move on.
    what do you guys think?

2. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic