Good zero turn for start up

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Clean N Green, Oct 10, 2009.

1. Clean N Green

Clean N Green LawnSite Member

Im starting my company in Spring of 2010. I have almost ten years of landscaping experience. What is a good zero turn for start ups. I will be doing mostly residential and have about 15 customers lined up.. Most are about 10 to 15 k square foot lawns.. Advice please

2. Jay Ray

Jay Ray LawnSite Fanatic

Fortunately you really know what you are doing now. You know your price range and how to pick a unit from within that range.

I see a lot of 60's on subdivision small lawns, but a 40 to 48 would be better imo. Depends a lot on gates where you are.

3. Lafman

Lafman LawnSite Member

I cut about the same sized yards. I bought a Toro 42" with a 21 HP for $2600 plus tax. It works great, plus i can get it the majority of the homeowners backyards. Those that I can't, i use my Toro 22 self propelled. Use a Maruyama trimmer and Echo edger. All work great.

good luck

4. LushGreenLawn

LushGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member

I would buy a good used commercial Zero Turn or Walk Behind, something around 48".

Do not buy the $2600 homeowner toro that above poster reccommended. It is not designed to cut 15 lawns a week. Most homeowner equipment will start having major issues the first or second year when used to cut more than a couple of lawns per week. It is designed for one largeer lawn per week.

5. Lafman

Lafman LawnSite Member