Gophers

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Ryan Lightning, Nov 7, 2003.

1. Ryan Lightning

Ryan Lightning LawnSite Senior Member
    from CA

Whats the best thing to use to kill gophers?

What do you guys charge to poison gophers, when your already on the property, either mowing are applicating.
    Would it be a flat rate til you get rid of it, are would you keep charging a fee every time you bait, until you kill it? I have 3-4 cleints asking me to get rid of gophers, and Im tiered of them also!

2. Josey Wales

Josey Wales LawnSite Member

Ryan, since you've gotten no replys, I'll try to give you my 2 cents worth :)

First of all, I am an expert at nothing. However I will claim that I've had at least a 95% success rate with my gopher killing method.

Find the mound that has the freshest (moist) dirt. This is the most recent active tunnel. I remove the pile and then dig around with my bare fingers (probably not a good idea) and locate the opening to the tunnel. I widen the tunnel out just a bit so the trap will fit in it cleanly and then set this baby (see pic) about 1 ft INSIDE the opening. The line is attached so I can retrieve the thing if the gopher buries it in dirt or, if I don't get a clean kill, the varmint doesn't take my trap with him into oblivion. I set the trip as sensitive as I can, that's the middle "V" shaped plate and then place 5 or 10 poison peanuts on the string side of the trap for bait.

Once it's set I place a flat paving stone over it to keep light out and wrap the string up to anchor it down then sit back and wait.

Every gopher I have trapped this way has taken no more than 45 minute to 1 hour to get a kill. EVERYtime it was successful and that's almost ALL of the time.

Im my own yard, I've killed at least 20 gophers and missed maybe two or three at the most. The gopher will either die OR he will simply fill the tunnel up with dirt, packing your trap away.