Got A Quote For New System - Your Comments Please!

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by NewtoUSALawns, Aug 28, 2007.

1. NewtoUSALawns

NewtoUSALawns LawnSite Member

Some Help from the Professionals!

I had a friend sent a guy to my house to give me an estimate for sprinkler system. I am new to US (see my post here, http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=196651), so I am asking your comments.

I got this from him

$2,200.00 for
    20 Rotors and 11 Spray Heads. Hunter PGP, Falcon Backflow Preventer, and Rainbird Controller Unit. Schedule 40 for main, and Poly for other lines. 12’’ deep lines, will level/dirt/seed. Warranty and free winterization for 1 year.

My neighbor got $2,500.00 for 33 Rotors, No Sprays – Same specs.

I know that the gentleman is more fluent in Spanish, and game me an estimate on a notepad. But claims to have done lots of commercial work, and recently started his own company. So far they walked the property, put flags, then gave estimate.

I have seen in my line of work many smaller companies who were learning to be professionals (didn’t appear professional in the beginning) but did excellent work.

I do not want to hold anything against him, but also do not know if his price is fair, or what more should I ask him or the next company we call!

Thanks and cheers Mate!

PS: Sorry if homeowners are not supposed to post here!

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

" Falcon Backflow Preventer ?? "

3. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

How many zones?

4. NewtoUSALawns

I think that's what he told me. As I said he is more fluent in Spanish, so perhaps I could not understand him.

5. NewtoUSALawns

6 Zones,

4 in the back, 2 in the front.

Which is good make/model for Backflow Preventer?

6. Kiril

Kiril LawnSite Fanatic

Probably Febco.

Do you have a good set of pictures of your landscape?
    How large of an area are we talking about?
    How diverse are the plantings?
    What type of valves is he using?
    What type of sprays is he using?