Gpm

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by TPnTX, Jul 31, 2006.

1. TPnTX

TPnTX LawnSite Bronze Member

This is too funny. I'm going through the online tutorial for designing irrigation. Sorry I'm not a irrigation scientist like you guys.

So one of the steps is to call the utilities company and ask them what the GPM is at the meter. It says they get asked that all the time. Yeah Right!

I've got two locations, one is in the City(small town). So I call the City and they don't know what I'm taking about.

The 2nd is a co-op water supply..."Yhew wont whut?"
    I said ....thanks have a nice day...f'n hick.

So got a bucket and calibrated it. lol, well i did.

The one house has PSI of 45. Right where the line comes into the house there is a spigot. I used it and it took 35secs to fill 5 gals.

The other house had 70PSI and it took 30secs.

So anyway for once in my A.D.D. life I try to follow directions and look where it got me.

The other thing on this tutorial that I'm haveing trouble getting my arms around is the Double Check Valve. You know that isn't real clear. He contradicts himself several times. I do know better than to NOT use one. Although the one house "out of city" I could get away with just a back flow preventor.

2. HooKooDooKu

HooKooDooKu LawnSite Member

It sounds like we're talking about www.irrigationtutorials.com

There's a lot of information out there, and I must admit that there's just so much to it that it can really get confusing.

But from my point of view as an engineer, everything said makes logical and scientific sence to me. Now my area of study was electrical engineering (hence the reason why I needed instructions to learn about plumbing). But cut the guy a break, as he indicates, he's an engineer, and we're pretty notorius for not doing well with writing skills.

On the subject of the Double Check Valve, let me see if I can add anything that will help clear things up....