Grass Clippings? leave them in the street or clean them up?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Picman, Oct 21, 2004.

1. Picman

Picman LawnSite Member

Im new in the business this season and most of my customers dont pay to have their grass bagged. But if it gets high sometimes theres a small amount of grass left in the street. Some customers dont care but some of my annoying ones complain about it. Should I give in and just do it or no?
  2. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ

In some areas it's illegal to just leave it and you or customer can get a ticket. Besides it looks really unprofessional to just blow it out into the street and reflects bad on your work. Maybe invest in a closure for your discharge chute? There are several companies as sponsors on here that do that.
  3. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

Of course you don't leave them in the street! That is something a professional LCO would never even think about doing. You simply blow them back into the yard and if you have a Redmax 7001 as listed that is a "breeze" of a job for you to do.
  4. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

Do we really have to answer this :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    If you have all that equipment you list, and have customers (i assume enough to justify the equipment), why are you even asking a question like this? I rarely land on someone for a dumb post, but thats kinda stupid question in my honest opinion. Just curious- why did you buy that backpack blower for? do you only use it for leaves or what? Don't you blow off sidewalks, driveways and flower beds (if needed) when you're done mowing, to clear off all accumulated debris (clippings, dirt, leaves etc)???

If I really have to answer your question: YES OF COURSE BLOW OFF THE CLIPPINGS!!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
  5. impactlandscaping

impactlandscaping LawnSite Silver Member