grass clippings

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by super.dave, Jul 25, 2002.

1. super.dave

super.dave LawnSite Member

I am new to the lawnsite website. I mow about 4 or 5 neighborhood yards part time with a 32" Toro single blade gear drive. I got tired of muscling this mower to get it to go back on the next cut. I now have purchased a used 36" hydro Cub Commercial 15hp Kawi, it looks the same as a Lesco. I do have a problem with the grass clippings and how they are dispersed. If the grass is a little bit long or thick it seems to leave a trail of clippings out the back in a neat little row. This has happened with standard blades or with Gator blades. In trying to figure out what is going on I tried mowing only with the left blade and it worked fine, but when I mowed using the right blade only that's when it would happen. I don't have anything blocking the discharge chute, and I have looked under the deck and don't see anything missing or damaged. The blade height is set at about 2 and 3/4 inches, I have tried it lower but no help. The Cub Cadet mower is only 2 years old and only about 60 hours in the hour meter.
    If anyone has ever heard of this or had any experience with this I would appreciate any advice you could give me.

Thanks super.dave
  2. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member

:blob3: dave sounds like the deck pitch is off a little bit, deck sould have a 1/4 inch pitch toward the front casters problem sould go away. tony
  3. PaulJ

PaulJ LawnSite Bronze Member

I had a simmilar problem with my 36" Lesco. when the growth got a little heavy. It wemed worse in higher humidity to.

I tried gators , better.
    I tried gators over standard, better yet,
    gators over high lifts , same , but pulled motor down too much,

Finaly Doubles with , gators on top , standard on the bottom of the left spidle, and high lift on the bottom of the discharge spidle.