1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Grass Is 14 inches Tall...How Much?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Wil22, Aug 17, 2004.

1. Wil22

Wil22 LawnSite Member

As I was driving this morning I noticed a yard with grass about 14 inches tall. I left a flier and the home owner called and asked me to come and cut, weed, front and back. I'm a newbie. Right now I only have a self propel. This yard looks like it would be 40-45 for a regular cut. The owner said when you get there cut it, I'll pay you. I'm moving in today. With my self propel I have to hit it with the weed wacker first. How much should I charge?
  2. mastercare

mastercare LawnSite Senior Member

You may get a hundred responses telling you to run from this job as quickly as possible. the only way I would take it is if they want it cut weekly for the rest of the season. This lawn could kill you and your 21" Mower. What good is it to burn out a $500 mower to make $50?

If you have the time and patience, take the job. I would charge double for the first cut, under the agreement that you can cut the lawn weekly for the rest of the season. If you hit it with the whip first, you're going to have to rake it all up, or you'll kill that little mower trying to cut through it.

Just to make it easier, get a friend with a whip and a mower, and cut it together.....give him half the money on the first cut, and then the account is yours for the rest of the season. It sucks to give up 50% of your earnings, but when you leave the yard, you won't hate it so much!
  3. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree with Mastercare. . .what good is a broken mower. Also on the point of making sure you get the account long-term.

In addition, make sure your price is high enough to make it worth the risk of hitting something in that tall grass.