grasshopper question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by edgeman2003, Apr 4, 2008.

1. edgeman2003

edgeman2003 LawnSite Member
    from md

Im just starting out, Thinking about getting some equipment for mowing. I was checking out a new grasshopper zero turn midmount mower(model 223) with 52'' duramax deck. I want to make sure, will last at least five yrs or more? I will bre doing residential and small commercial lots. I checked with local dealer for this model, it was $7,400 and they had a demo w/100hrs for $6,900. Is this a fair price, or should I go else where? Im in Hagerstown,MD

2. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE LawnSite Bronze Member

For 7400,you could get a scag wildcat with a 26 lc kaw a super motor with a better cut.......

3. edgeman2003

from md

where do they sell this brand? I'm in hagerstown, md

4. edgeman2003

from md

so really my main concern is the maintain cost, reliability. I know with the grasshopper I have a dealer right down the street from me. Which comes with 2 yr warranty and if mower is down, they loan you one until yours is fixed.

5. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

I have ran grasshopper,to me the scag is a better mower,don't throw apples at me but itz true with scag you will never look back...

6. MOW PRO LAWN SERVICE

scag has a 3 year warranty........

7. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Grasshoppers are wonderful mowers. Very comfortable and cut really nice. You won't regret your decision. The 7400 seems a bit high but that could be right for your area. You won't go wrong with a grasshopper.

8. edgeman2003

from md

whats the most I should pay for the grasshopper 223 model, it has the 23hp kohler? they have the demo that has 100hr on it for $6900

9. edgeman2003

from md

the wildcat is like 2,000 more then the grasshopper. for only 3 more hp.
    www.bes-tex.com/products.php?kei=1081
    that just not in my range

10. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas