Grasshopper

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rrooster, May 18, 2001.

1. rrooster

rrooster LawnSite Member

Am seriously concidering purchasing a Grasshopper 725 W/61" flip up and hydrolic lift. Have looked at and seen Dixie and Toro work. Would like some imput from anyone using Grasshopper!

2. mowerman90

mowerman90 LawnSite Bronze Member

I have owned 2 Grasshoppers. The first was a 720K w/52 mulching deck, the second and current machine is a 725G2 w/52 mulching deck. The first machine had problems beause of the 20 hp Kohler (broken cam gear). My current machine is a pure pleasure to own. It currently has about 1000 hours on it and has not given me one bit of problems. Overall, a much better machine than the first one. I considered getting the flip up deck with this one but couldn't see the added expense being worth it. It also is not as easy to flip up as they make it look in the brochures. Get a jungle jack instead, it's quick and cheap. I have no experience with the hydraulic deck lift system but it seems like overkill to me. I mean, how often can you change your deck height while doing one job? Just my .02

3. swn

swn LawnSite Member

I have 3 grasshoppers. The newest one is a 725 with a 61" deck. It has a 25 hp kohler. I really like it. I also considered the the flip up deck and the hydraulic lift, but I did not get either one. I agree with mowerman 90, that the flip up deck looks a lot easier than it actually is. The hydraulic lift would be nice if you plan to get the aererator(ever how you spell it) that grasshopper offers. But otherwise I wouldn't get it.

4. boozoo

boozoo LawnSite Member