Gravel driveway advice plz.

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by Vikings, Apr 20, 2007.

1. Vikings

Vikings LawnSite Bronze Member
    from canada

Have no idea if this is the right forum..

I expanded my parking lot onto a grassy area, broke down the fence blah blah.

It's turning into mud, I know I need to dump some gravel there but I was wondering about coarseness. My idea is (I have no knowledge in this area) that I would put down coarse gravel, pack it down by hand a bit then spread some finer gravel.

Is this a decent plan? I now have 30 ft by about 20ft to park, 2/3 already has gravel though its pretty crappy looking and 1/3 is mud/grass.
  2. Gravel Rat

Gravel Rat LawnSite Fanatic

Scrape up and remove the brown mud because its going to bleed through the good gravel. Once you get the muck cleaned up use some good 3/4 inch road base pack that down and that should be good enough for a parking lot.
  3. Vikings

Vikings LawnSite Bronze Member
    from canada

3/4inch, thank you.
  4. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

We use 3/4 crush and run on our drive ways. Works dandy.

5. 6DoubleDuece

6DoubleDuece LawnSite Member

Do you guys think a vibrating plate compacter is enough for that kind of job or do you need somthing bigger?

6. bishoplandscape

bishoplandscape LawnSite Member

If its real bad you should put some 1x3 crushed concrete then top with a 21AA would give you the best out come and would never be mud again. As for compacting i wouldn't bother just drive over it a little. :weightlifter:
  7. YellowDogSVC

YellowDogSVC LawnSite Gold Member
    from TX

I disagree with the 3/4 base. It is correct to remove the mud as it will "pump" through the base.