1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Gravely 34Z or Walk Behind???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sarge38624, Jul 18, 2004.

1. sarge38624

sarge38624 LawnSite Member

I am about to take the plunge and purchase either a small ZTR or a WB. All of the yards that I have are residential, and over half of them have gates that my 42" tractor can barely squeeze through. I would like to buy a 44" ZTR, but it would not fit into the back yards of most of my accounts.
    A friend works at a Kubota dealership that also handles Gravely. He has quoted me a price of $3900 on a Gravely 34 ZTR, and since the dealership is just over the state line from me in Oklahoma, I will not be charged sales tax (savings of several hundred dollars).
    I have no experience with a commercial walk behind and I would like for you guys to give me your opinions of the 34ZTR vs. a 36" walk behind. Would the 36" walk behind be able to cut as fast as the 34ZTR since I would be on foot behind it? The accounts that I have now are all on level ground, but there are lots of properties in my area that are on sloped ground.
    I know these are pretty elementary questions, but I have very limited experience and I don't want to make a mistake that I will regret later. Thanks in advance for all of your help.
  2. txlawnking

txlawnking LawnSite Bronze Member

Seeing how you said that there's plenty of hills in your area, I'd either get a 32-36" Hydro WB, or better yet, a 36" stand up rider, like a Stander or Surfer...
  3. SouthernFried

SouthernFried LawnSite Senior Member

You don't have to "walk" behind a walk behind. You attach a one or 2 wheeled sulky and ride...standing up. And you can go as fast as the mower will go.