Gravely 34Z verses John Deer riding Mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rlc321, Jun 18, 2004.

1. rlc321

rlc321 LawnSite Member

I currently have a a John Deer L110 Riding mower with a 17hp kohler and a 44" deck. I am just starting out and I am thinking of buying a Gravely 34Z. This is a part time business for me and the yards I do are a 1/2 acre or less. There are some tight spots I have to get into. All the biger ztrs I have looked at are in the $6000.00 range and is more than I am willing to spend. My question is How much faster will it be to cut a lawn with the 34z compared to the L110? And Will I have more power with the 15hp twin on the 34Z or will it be the same as my 17hp Kohler. Should I buy the 34Z
  2. txlawnking

txlawnking LawnSite Bronze Member

I demoed the 34z it seems to be a good unit,and it's performance will be light years better than your rider.

CHUCK'SLAWN LawnSite Member

I bought a new 34Z 3 months ago and so far it's great for those residentials with tight spots around landscape beds, trees, gated back yards. it has good speed and excellent cut
  4. Sam-Ohio

Sam-Ohio LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

You will be able to find the answers to many of your questions about the 34Z by going to your local dealer and taking a demo ride.

The 34Z and its bigger brother, the 44Z have been excellent machines. Since these units are essentialy a reworking of the components that make up Gravely's hydro pro walk mowers , they are really engineered for the commercial user.
    Again I urge you to demo the machine so that you can see for yourself how well it controls, and how well the mower cuts and discharges.