Gravely vs. Hustler

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mad_wrestler, Mar 29, 2005.

1. mad_wrestler

mad_wrestler LawnSite Senior Member

I need ya'lls opinion on these three mowers

'05 Gravely 34Z 15 hp Kawasaki for $4200
    '05 Hustler Mini Z 44" 20 hp Kawasaki $5880
    '05 Hustler Super Z 60" 25 hp Kawasaki $7250

Which one is the biggest bang for the buck. Which one would you choose and why? Thanks

2. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

The Gravely 34 is a known rut producer. Little tiny skinny tires. I like Gravely. My PM 260 is a great machine. Scag has a new 36 I am thinking about buying soon. much wider rear tires.

The hustlers, I have no experience.

3. mad_wrestler

I was talking to another guy that said the same thing about the ruts. Seems like I'm wavering towards the Hustler. Which one is still in question?

4. imograss

imograss LawnSite Senior Member

Although I haven't used the Gravely in question. I don't believe you will be disapointed in the Hustler Super Z.

5. mad_wrestler

Are these good prices? Prices that I should not pass up?

'05 Gravely 34Z 15 hp Kawasaki for $4200
    '05 Hustler Mini Z 44" 20 hp Kawasaki $5880
    '05 Hustler Super Z 60" 25 hp Kawasaki $7250

6. lampeslawnservice

lampeslawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

Those seem like awfully big jumps in mower size what are you looking to do? If your looking at the smaller units check out the scag website. Don't have any experiance with them but they look to be built tougher and smarter than the others. Myself I have the super Z and love it!

7. hillndale

hillndale LawnSite Member
    from Maine

'05 Gravely-- 15HP-- 34Z-- 21 x 7-10--- 4299.00 -- 725lbs.
    '05 Gravely-- 17HP-- 44Z-- 20 x 10-10--- 4799.00-- 830 lbs
    '05 Skag -- 19HP-- 36 Z Cat-- 23 x 8.5-12 --- 5299.00 -- 873lbs.
    '05 Skag -- 19HP-- 42 Z Cat -- 23 x 9.5-12--- 5999.00-- 883lbs ?
    '05 Hustler -- 19HP-- 44 Mini Z-- 23 x 9.5-12 --- 5999.00 -- 995lbs.