Gravely ZT 1232

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by rcwebb, Apr 17, 2007.

1. rcwebb

rcwebb LawnSite Member

I am looking to replace my old Lawn tractor and am considering to models: a new Craftsman 3500 lawn Tractor with a 42' deck and a 20 HP B&S for $1289, or a used Gravely ZT 1232 (32' with a B&S 12 hp) for $1250. The Gravely looks brand new and also includes the mulching attachment and the bagger attachment. The previous owner supposedly traded the Gravely in to purchase a larger model.

From searching and reading posts here, the residential Gravely's are not well liked, but this is what is in my budget. I have 2 acres to mow with several giant oaks that I have to mow around the roots. I also have a ditch bank that I mow, so my lawn isn't nice and level.

Any opinions are welcome. The Craftsman is very similar to my old mower that served me well for 9 years. I have no experience with Gravely's or ZTR mowers.

Thanks,
    Craig

2. dwost

dwost LawnSite Bronze Member

Get the Z, even at the residential level the Gravely will walk all over the Craftsman.

3. rcwebb

rcwebb LawnSite Member