1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

greasing mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by simsy71, Sep 10, 2003.

1. simsy71

simsy71 LawnSite Member

I feel stupid asking this. I have a new exmark metro 48. I looked in the owners manual on were I should grease it. They show different points. When I look on the mower to grease it are these holes, point were moving parts are????they mention zerks,,,, what is a zerk??? So to sum it up I am confused on were to put the grease. This is my first year on my own and I want to make sure I maintain my equipment. Thanks Mike
  2. work_it

work_it LawnSite Senior Member

The grease point looks like a little nub or ball sticking out. Look under the deck of your machine and on each spindle you'll see one. The grease gun will fit right on that little ball. Fill with enough grease to see some squeeze out around the spindle or another point. If it just starts comming out around the grease gun-zerk connection you need to reangle the grease gun to get a better connection.
  3. GLAN

GLAN Banned

Ever see a quick connect?

You know the ones on a garden hose..............the zerks are kinda like that. Or you can relate them to the air fitting where you fill a tire with air. The post above desribing them is accurate.

Push the grease gun fitting onto it, you will feel kinda a detent when it is on. As it wears out you wont feel all that much. Grease every where they indicate and where you find a grease fitting.

As far as blade spindles, 8 - 10 pumps is sufficient and should be done daily or every other day at the most. Don't over pack the blade spindles, grease comes out you have a worn seal, not good. All other fittings a little bit of grease can squeeze out with no problems.
  4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic