Great Dane Scamper (WB) Opinions?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tb8100, Feb 19, 2008.

1. tb8100

tb8100 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from TX

Since Great Dane has been acquired by Ariens and they're still being produced, would you buy one? How reliable are they? Cut?

2. tb8100

from TX

bump ttt :)

3. mowman84

mowman84 LawnSite Member

I would just buy a wright stander.

4. tb8100

from TX

well yeah, but a stander type of mower is alot more than a regular walk-behind...

5. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

I have one I bought last late fall (a lightly used '07 model). Haven't got to use it much more than on a couple properties, mostly just playing around with it. Mine's a Hydro 48" pistol grip.

I have ZERO experience with a hydro walkbehind, and only limited with belt drives, enough to know that I do not like to run belts, lol. They hydro, even the pistol grip was a lot easier to run than I had thought.

Problems I had with it, it's pretty light, dosn't give a lot of traction for pulling a sulkey. Have a castering type, but reversing it wants to just spin the tires rather than back up. The single wheel Velke seems to get along better with it, but not so well with my legs and ankles (yes I about broke my leg a couple times...) I'm not much help with the machine, since I have very limited time with mine. I know how to adjust everything though! Every linkage on it was out of whack, thing was going in circles in neutral! All's good now though.

6. tb8100

from TX

what did it set you back?

7. Jason Rose

$1,600.00

Yes, they list new for about $3,000.00 for the same model. I think I did ok on it!

8. tb8100

from TX

$3000 new is cheap!! Most 48" belt drive WBs sell for much more. $1600 for a slightly used one is an absolute steal. :dizzy: