1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Great opportunity or wishful thinking

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by David B., Aug 15, 2007.

1. David B.

David B. LawnSite Member

Hi all,
    as you will see, I'm completely new to this and therefor need some of your advice.

this is what's happening.
    a friend of mine works many years for a company that sells John Deere equipment to golf courses.
    many times he gets offers from some of his customers and this last one is the one that might seal the deal.
    he is not interested in starting his own business, since his job pays him well, but he would become my silent partner and maybe when the company takes off and can afford it he would work for it too.
    long story as short as possible:
    a client wants to give us a contract to mow the property once or twice a month (what ever necessary to keep the city happy). It's 200 acre and the bid was $10 an acre.
    My friend will get the used tractor and the tow behind for around $10000.00
    by the time we add insurance and maintenance etc., it shouldn't be to hard to pay off my investment and run for profit within the first 6 month.
    I estimate to sit on the tractor for two days to get this done, that would be four days of work a month if cutting twice per month.
    We estimate 15 cuts a year = $30000.00
    Is this realistic?
    The idea is to get more of the same accounts and hire a full time employee and expend from there.
    even if it doesn't work out, I still can sell the tractor and the cutter and don't lose anything, if this were the only account for a year and it wouldn't be renewed.
    How realistic is it to get large accounts (50 acres plus), how realistic is the price of $10 an acre (only for flat land, no trees etc.), is this average, low or high?