Ground Covers ?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by BASIC, May 7, 2005.

1. BASIC

BASIC LawnSite Member

Hi,I'm looking for suggestions on ground covers to plant for a customer(I've never done this before).It has to be low maintenance and will be used on a slope.The customer currently has the area mulched and and it needs to be redone,he asked me to come up with some alternatives for him.Thankyou for any help,BASIC.
  2. Kate Butler

Kate Butler LawnSite Senior Member

'Ground cover' covers a multitude of possibilites. Does your client want a taller sort (to 2') or something lower? Keep in mind that the lower the ground cover, the more likely that weeds (and their seeds) will come up through it. Taller perennial ground covers not only crowd out the weeds and germinating seeds with their ever-expanding growth patterns, but will shade the soil to prevent seeds that require light from germinating. Many people go with one form or another of the prostrate junipers, but my experiences with them have been mostly painful: they are hard to work with and don't exclude enough light to suppress weed germination. If they've got to have evergreens, go with microbiota decussata (Siberian false cypress) - they look like junipers, have a denser growth habit, and are NOT PRICKLY. They are slow spreaders by comparision to junipers, but do a better job of providing thick, shady cover to the surrounding soil.

You must take into consideration the actual grade of the slope: the steeper the slope, the more necessary a planting with a sturdy enough root system to keep the slope in place. And the more necessary a higher number of plants (more plants, more roots) to hold it all together.